top of page

The Untold Story of Juanito

Updated: Apr 23, 2021

By: Leanne Mae Balahadia & Kate Ledesma


Image source

https://southluzon.politics.com.ph/2019/03/31/totoy-pa-check-out-jonvic-remullas-throwback-photo-to-mark-cavite-day/


WHEN I WAS STILL A KID, my parents had always instilled in us the desire to become politicians. We're surrounded by people who want to help the nation by amending and passing legislation. When governors had an emergency meeting in my father's working room, I vividly recall seeing them eating in our dining room.


On October 24, 1967, at 9:45 a.m., I became a living human. In contrast to what I'm used to, I'd rather be an educator than a politician. I attended the prestigious Ateneo de Manila University for my secondary education. I also earned a philosophy degree from the University of the Philippines Diliman, where I joined the Upsilon Sigma Phi fraternity.


As a typical teenager, I spent my college years visiting various museums and libraries in order to maintain my social appearance as a "bad boy with dreams." But the call of duty outweighs my admiration for being a civilized and free man. With my father's support, I applied for a board member of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan (Provincial Council) in Cavite's 2nd district in 1995, and the odds were in my favor because I was elected. In 1998, I ran for vice-governor, and three years later, in 2001, elected governor by taking over the title from former Governor Ayong Maliksi.


In the world of politics, so much has happened over a period of five to nine years. This seems to be difficult because you are the one who must determine and order the people responsible for implementing a system that will be used in the entire area. I can now understand why my father always asked for a massage from my mother back then. But, in light of the agreement and commitment I made when I decided to join this area, I am determined to assist and supply Cavitenos' needs.


I really am enjoying and devoting myself to serving the province with the aid of my co-workers, as well as the love and encouragement of fellow Cavitenos. I often see this as a way of life; anytime I make a public announcement on my Facebook page, I can tag my favorite quote or music line. Reading positive feedback gave me butterflies, particularly when people began to refer to me as "Gov Pogi."


I am the Governor of Cavite, and my name is Juanito "Jonvic" Remulla.


3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page